Ebuyer.com Reviews

4.74 Rating 53,482 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Ebuyer.com
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 92%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.63 out of 5
Read Ebuyer.com Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0371 521 3300

Email:

Scott@ebuyer.com

Location:

Howden, East Yorkshire United Kingdom

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I ordered a 2.5k GBP laptop on Saturday as it said if I pay for premium shipping and order it immediately it will arrive by noon Monday, however at noon time I receive an automated email that i must do "additional security checks".

I called and the phone got picked up by "Zoe" who basically just asked me my billing address and date of birth then casually proceeded to say I passed the security checks and laptop will be dispatched at midnight for "premium" delivery tomorrow.

When told that this is actually the 3rd day I'm waiting for my "1 day delivery" she proceeds to casually and in a entirely uninterested tone tell me "these are the terms and conditions you agreed when you purchased from us" OKAY WOW.

I was looking at having my "premium" shipping cost refunded at the very least and was somewhat still OK with proceeding with the order but after that, I'd rather cancel it and order elsewhere which is exactly what happened.

Be warned and stay away, they will mess up and forget to process your order and then throw a pathetic excuse your way in the form of a 5 second "security check" and then refuse to step-up.
Posted 7 months ago
Hi there,

I am very sorry to hear that your order was held due to our extra security checks.

At Ebuyer we do have security procedures in place for the safety of both our customers and ourselves.

I am sorry if this procedure has caused you any inconvenience and I would like to review the service you have received to try and offer you a resolution.

I am going to review your order and I will be back in touch to discuss this further. In the meantime if you would like to contact myself directly please email me at kat@ebuyer.com

Kind Regards,
Kat
Posted 7 months ago
I took my time to compare prices and parts for a full PC build, against the specs and price of a ready-built Zoostorm which was on offer when I first saw it. The site has a customer relations platform, on which sales advisors popup to offer assistance when customers are browsing. During the two weeks which I was browsing the site, I spoke to the advisors quite a few times.

I told the advisor(s) that I would be using the PC for 3D artwork and games development, and at first, I asked them to help me to build a PC (within my budget) - using the AMD A10 (quad core) CPU, which was in the cheap Zoostorm they had. They helped me to find the parts, and I added them to my account's "wish-list" as we went along. I did need their help on finding certain parts, due to a lack in appropriate search options on the site. For example, you can not search for a motherboard by RAM type, or for a CPU cooler by socket type.

Each time I returned to the site to look at the possible build, I found that one or more of the parts in my wish-list, had altered in price to become more expensive. Some had discounts removed, while others had the price adjusted, or the discount adjusted, for no apparent reason. The advisors informed me that prices can change from time to time, depending on suppliers and offers. But the rate at which the prices were changing - left me a little dubious about the practices at play.

After removing and replacing some of the parts in my wish-list a few times... When I finally came to make a purchase I found that the price of my original build, had gone from around "£300 -to- £330" up to "£350 -to- £380" (when comparing cheaper options with more expensive options). I found this to be quite a big increase in price to be fair, and so I decided to start a fresh, and looked at some of the different CPU's.

I then found a CPU and motherboard, which were far better for my 3D creativity needs with a socket AM3+. I did tell the advisor(s) that I would be using a graphics card, and so the extra expense of an APU type CPU could be avoided, depending on the choice of motherboard. But they were unable to point me in the direction of these more ideal parts.

I ended up buying an AMD FX-6300 (six core) CPU, and a Gigabyte GA-970-Gaming motherboard, with slightly slower RAM - Vengeance pro x16GB kit (1866MHz OC to 2000MHz). Which was far better suited to my needs. This being a six core build rather than a quad core, and with the AMD AM3+ FX CPUs' even stating in the description, that they are optimal for 3D creativity... I would have thought, that with the amount of times I spoke to them, the advisors could have pointed me in the direction of these alternate parts, but they failed to do so.

The night before I made my purchase, I found another website offering some of the parts I was viewing, for a cheaper price. I told the ebuyer on-site advisor that I might end up making a purchase on that website instead, or might end up buying parts from both websites, at an inconvenience - as I would normally only buy computer parts from ebuyer, and I would prefer to keep all of my order in the same place.

As I populated my basket with parts, I noticed that the 1TB Seagate hard drive, had a discount of £50 on it, making it's price £1.54 (inc vat). To some, this might seem like a mistake. I obviously added one to my order. Then clicked "add item(s)" on the account "order page". The page told me that there were another 18 of this item in stock, so naturally I bought them all!

I made my purchase at around 3am to 4am as I was sleepless. At around 6am, I refreshed the page of the hard drive a few times, and saw the price be altered, back up to the normal price for the item, £50 (inc discount). Shortly afterwards, I received an email informing me that the item was completely out of stock. So I waited until 9am, for the on-site advisors to come online to assist me. Shortly after that the item's page was removed.

They advised me that the item was no longer in stock, and that it had been flagged by their stock discrepancy policy. Then they advised that I choose a different hard drive for my order... and pointed me towards hard drives with a price tag of around £50.

In the UK, we have consumer rights, and I believe that if you find a wrongly priced item in a store, and go to the checkout with it, the store has to honour the marked price (by law). However, they would not budge on this matter and offered me nothing but the cancellation of my order.

I call this "sale-baiting", and believe it to be an underhand tactic, used to lure me in to making my purchase with ebuyer, rather than with the other website I was comparing prices to. When I said this to the advisor, and asked them if they would want such things to be written in a review, they asked me to hold on for a moment, and "went to speak to a manager". They returned offering me a free delivery, and a £10 discount off my next order. But this left my order without an hard drive, so I had to place another order for the hard drive straight away.

When they cancelled the 19x 1TB Seagate hard drives from my original order, (amended the order) the money was instantly returned to my bank account. But when I placed the order for another hard drive (costing £50) the promised discount was not added... Due to some complication with the site remembering my payment details (I was aware of it doing this, but there was no option in the account settings to remove my card details). They then cancelled the second order, and asked me to place the order again to receive the promised discount. Once again, the discount was not applied, so the advisor amended the third order to have a free delivery. (Promised discount £10, delivery cost £8 so I still did not get that full discount).

This caused me to be short on money, as the cancellation of the second order meant that £48 was held up in the payment process. They advised me that it can take "up-to" 5 working days for monies to be returned. This is something which could have been avoided all together, if they had just amended the second order. Or if they had honoured the first stated price for one of (minus the 18 extra) the hard drive which I originally went to the checkout with, and that would have been no different to them on the final cost of the order(s).

With all that said, the parts I ordered did arrive the next day (Saturday). Everything was in good condition and working. The motherboard I ordered was stated as "Ex-display" but it had never even been out of the box, as the seal was still in-tact. The parts complimented each other well, and the computer I built is perfect for my needs.

I have never had such issues before, and I will indeed continue to use ebuyer, and I will still recommend ebuyer to friends, and to the endless array of people who ask me for technical assistance. I am more a software guy, so even I sometimes need help with the hardware side of things, but many people ask me for help. But I write this somewhat negative and long review, as I hope that in future, ebuyer can offer a better customer service. And maybe even better training for their advisors.

But until then, I would suggest that it might be better to avoid talking to the on-site advisors, and maybe even avoid using the wish-list on your account... as it seems, doing so can cause prices to vary, and it could well have been an honest mistake, but I call the price change I witnessed "Sale Baiting".

Thanks,
Adam.
Posted 3 years ago
Having spent many months researching what items I wanted for my PC upgrade I found time and again that ebuyer was the cheapest when it came to hardware and very competitive when it came to other items.

The user reviews of the products help you make an informed decision and I feel safe buying from a well-established company.

The only way this site could get better would be to have a "PC Builder" function allowing you to build you PC and check that they will all work together, fit in the case etc.
Posted 3 years ago
I used to think Ebuyer were excellent with faultless service and delivery. How can they have changed so much into a bunch of incompetent, unhelpful idiots. I needed ink cartridges urgently for my daughter's school project and ordered from Ebuyer. Their "delivery" company Yodel just did not deliver but consistently lied and claimed to have attempted it and left a card. There was someone at the house at all times and no cards have been left. I have tried to contact Ebuyer with an eNote as there seems no other way yet they do not respond. I have no way to cancel my unfilled order as Ebuyer have decided it is 'shipped'. Do not uses these cowboys. Avoid at all costs.
Posted 5 years ago
I have used ebuyer multiple times over some years. They have always been good customer service, shipping times accurate and professional.
Posted 1 year ago
always good prices and great value but has been disappointed by customer service in the past and next day delivery prices could be better
Posted 1 year ago
Great range of stock with useful reviews from confirmed owners. Competitive prices. Nice website layout and menu options including filtering and ordering your search results. Secure packaging and quick despatch of orders. My favourite tech dealers for everything from a £3 cable to a £1000 gaming machine.
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered a monitor I required urgently, so I paid for next day service. Arrived as planned, but the monitor was faulty. one of those things I know, but what was disappointing was the after sales service to replace the monitor. Nearly two weeks on and I still don't have a monitor. Surely a replacement should have been sent out immediately, not wait for a courier to take a week to get it back to Ebuyer and then be told its another 3-5 days for "testing".
Posted 2 years ago
Company was purchased by another company but ebuyer will not change the company name on my accounts.
Posted 2 years ago
Ive been a happy Ebuyer for over a decade now, the website is easy to use and navigate, the selection available is always vast and reasonably priced, and everything is always delivered within the stated days etc.
Posted 2 years ago
Simply every time i place an order and get my goods the service is 100% first class and the products arrive on time and as as expected. If there are any issues they are sorted quickly and without fuss. What more could you want from a supplier.
Posted 2 years ago
Great value. Great service. Always good stock. One word, reliable.
Posted 2 years ago
Very efficient. Excellent range of stuff. Used many times, no issues so far!
Posted 2 years ago
Awful company to deal with, items not in stock. Damaged goods have to be argued to be returned, everything is filled with hassle. Wait in queues for hours on the phone. Then operators do not update notes and the next one basically calls you a liar. Stay clear and shop elsewhere if you can.
Posted 2 years ago
Bought a computer part and found it was faulty, i had to take photos and spend loads of time with customer service going through hardware. A collection was booked and the item was returned. 3 days later i called as i needed this part urgent, i was told the part had not arrived back with them and that it will take a further 5 days once received. The delays in getting an item paid for is shocking. At the end of the day the part is faulty and been paid for, you need to speed up this process. will not be using again
Posted 2 years ago
Great range of products, prices, and delivery speed.
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered the item for nextday delivery. Failed to deliver with in the next 3 days. had to canel the order and request a refund. Now have been told we have to wait till the parcel is returned to their warehouse. god knows when....
Posted 2 years ago
All the Id checks seem intrusive, unnecessary and delayed my order by weeks
Posted 2 years ago
They price match the best deals on the web including amazon etc etc. Also always have items in stock. I highly rate ebuyer and have been a customer for years.
Posted 2 years ago
Fantastic site where the prices are lower than all the competition sites I usually use.
This purchase was for a budget gaming machine as a christmas present for a family member but I definitely plan to come back in the new year as my machine will be due an upgrade!
Posted 2 years ago
Ebuyer.com is rated 4.74 based on 53,482 reviews